PH buffer closed corals

UMan101

Non-member
I like to post my noob mistakes for others to learn from and not have to go through what I did. It's the best way I can contribute until I'm a seasoned vet like others on the forums. Heres today's lesson:

I bought kent ph buffer when I started out in the hobby. Today I noticed my ph was a little low so I put some into the display. HUGEEEE mistake!

I've never had my heart sink like this with anything in the hobby. Every single one of my corals closed up immediately. All of them even spewed out some slime. I totally freaked out. I was going to shed man tears lol. In a panic I immediately did a water change and started to use a turkey baster to get any buffer off of the corals (I don't know if that actually helped or not). After a few long long hours, I finally started to see them reopening and now everything is back to normal. Phewwww. I know it's close to halloween and all but this is one scare I never wanna experience ever again lol

So any idea what I did wrong? Do I have a bad ph buffer product? Should I mix the buffer in water beforehand? Maybe I needed to put it in the sump? Or should I not even be using ph buffer at all? Let me know what you guys think

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Never use "ph buffer". Though it will raise your ph, it will also raise your KH. You need to add a 3 part CA/ALK/MG combination. Most people don't need to chase a PH number, let it fall where it falls. If you find you have a chronic low PH problem there are other ways to help this.

You had a precipitation event which is usually harmless and you handled it correctly. Check your CA/ALK/MG levels again a adjust accordingly.

Hi
I believe you spiked you r alkalinity.....

Others can chime in but I believe all that stuff is , baked out baking soda,,,,,

Like someone else on here said, never ever chase ph