Which Reactor is Which?

sdesi2005

Non-member
I have been looking at all these different types of Reactors lately, Calcium, Phosphate, Kalk ect. My question is, What do they all do, and do I need one? If so which one? Currently I keep all LPS corals in my tank. Everything seems to be doing fine but there is always so much talk about all these different reactors.

To be honest, I'm new at this and this is probably a stupid question but I have no idea what they do, or if I really need one. Please help.

A Ca reactor dissolves aragonite media and supplies the tank with balanced calcium and alkalinity. It needs a CO2 supply in order to dissolve the aragonite.

A Kalk reactor does more or less the same thing in terms of supplying balanced Ca/alk, but the media is kalk/lime and there's an upper limit to how much Ca/alk it can supply (it's limited by the daily evaporation rate of your system).

A phosphate reactor is a completely different device, it's basically a way to remove phosphates from your system by forcing the water through the phosphate removing media.

I think the decision on getting a calcium reactor should be made based on what (and how much of it) you're adding to the tank to maintain Ca/alk levels where you want them... two-part additives, kalkwasser, etc... if it's become a burden, or too costly, then go to a Ca reactor.

What additives are you dosing currently?

Nuno

calcium reactors use Co2 to disolve media and turn it to calcium and alk and drip it back into your tank

kalk reactor is used to drip/add kalk (balanced calcium and alkalinity powder) into your tank

and a phosphate reactor hold media that absorbs phos out of your water

as for the first 2 it would depend on what you Ca and Alk consumptions are and how much you dose per day/week and it you are sick of dosing and want to set one of those to take care of that for you. They will also help keep your Ca and Alk at consistant levels and do away with the swings (better for the corals)