Aquaillumination SOL LED Fixture Assessments

SOL can be mounted in parallel across 1 rail rather then the 2 rail setup.

I have the SOL Blue Led in my 45 gallon tank. I will be honest that i am not an expert on fish tanks but i did purchase this light and absolutely love it. The only issue that i did have and you will have with any light upgrade is an huge algae bloom. I highly suggest getting the controller witch will help with the algae. All in all like it and highly recommend getting it.

I know AI says you can mount them parallel and do 2 on a 90, but honestly I think that's complete B.S. SPS may live, but they won't thrive. I would never use less then 3 on a true SPS system. A lot of guys are using 4. On a mixed reef, if your willing to place SPS in the hotspots, then 2 may be okay. However, for good color and growth SPS need a lot of light and the SOLs by themselves just don't have much coverage if your looking for PAR lengthwise or not...

I agree with Inverted, I found AI suggestions to be a bit lower than what I actually needed. I started with 2 on a mixed reef. Had trouble with SPS and couldn't go to three fast enough. I have 3 now over 36"... you are going to put 2 over 48". I would get at least 3.

The rail system comes with 2 bars and side plates to connect the bars. The light pods connect to the rail by a loose screw adjusted for the height of the rail system. Nothing says you need to use the second rail. Just use one, and slide both ends of the pod into the single rail. Then you just need to balance the rail so it mounds straight. If you are planning to hang them with wire or some type of line this is not difficult to do.