I have flat worms

Cjtabares

PBITAWA
BRS Member
Idk how long I have had them but there does not seem to be to many. What is the best way of getting them out? I have flat worm exit that I have been using to dip corals for the last 2 months, now I wish I had dipped from the start.

Should I syphon out as many of them as I can then use the flat worm exit?

I have also been thinking of trying a wrass again, any of them good at eating flat worms? I had 2 scotts fairy wrasses, one jumped and I traded the other one. I was thinking of going with something smaller this time

any suggestions would be great

oh and the fish I have now, if you wanted to suggest a wrass, are
2 O. Clowns
1 yellow headed jawfish
1 yashia goby
4 blue green cromis
1 yellow tang
1 clown tang
3 lyertail anthias

Last edited:
Try a Melanurus wrasse. We've had good luck with 2 of them that we had. Wiped out all the flatworms in my wifes tank. The first one ended up going carpet surfing and the second one met his demise by a huge emerald crab. So, if you go with one make sure you have either eggcrate or mesh over your tank.

You could try FWE in the display, I know many people who used it with success. If you don't have a lot I don't think you'll have too much of a problem with toxins in the water.

Are these the brownish photo synthetic kind? (sounds like it, but that's the first question to ask...)

Can you post a pic?

I am on my phone because my computer is not working so I would not be able to get a good pic. The lights are out but they were a redish brown color

Then they are probably the nisiance variety. I would consider FW exit before the infestation gets really bad. Beware though, if you see 100, you probably have 10,000 :(

Joy. I think I am going to try and syphon out as many as I can and use the FWE. After I still think I might add a melanurus wrass. Do you think the wrass would keep the population in check it the FWE miss some of them?