Looking for advice on stocking my new/growing tank

maurice-io

Non-member
I'm very new to saltwater and to reefs, so I would appreciate any advice regarding my tentative plan to add livestock to my tank.
As of now, it has cycled 3 weeks ago, and has 1 clownfish and 2 firefish (who barely come out from their hiding spot, but I assume that's normal behavior for them).

Tank: 55 Gal display (Red-Sea-Reefer 250)
Current specs: (API tests... :/)
- Salinity 1.023
- pH: 8.0--8.3 (goes up and down within that range)
- Ammonia 0
- Nitrate 5ppm
(Not currently testing anything else)

Based on my high-level reading and looking at things, I am considering some new additions, and would appreciate some advice around:
A) When is too early / when is appropriate to also add corals? I understand that I'll have to test/control the nutrients, but the question is in relation to adding more fish v/s starting to add corals
B) What about timing for adding invertebrates (Shrimps, crabs, snails) -- same questions as above
C) List of additional fish -- here's what I have in mind. Would appreciate advice on the order of introducing them:
- Blue-green chromis (4-6?)
- Lyretail Anthia (3-4?)
- Leopard Wrasse (3?)
- Maybe a couple single fish -- flame angel for example, etc - but I am guessing these can be decided later.

Thanks for any advice I can get!

Maurice

How about a little more about the setup? Total water volume, equipment, amount of LR etc. That all helps us understand tank capacity for bioload (fish). And spoiler alert, you’ll be disappointed with the limited number of fish you can support.

Good point! Here's some more info:
Total volume 65Gal (55 display + 10 sump)
Live rock ~ 80lb
Live sand 20lb
Biofilter media (marine pure spheres) 1 gal
Other filtration: Sock + Carbon

Also planning to add an in-tank 2.5gal refugium at some point

Here's an image:

Attachments

• 20230225_091955.jpg
    20230225_091955.jpg
    124.2 KB · Views: 87