Negative effects of changing too much water?

Jim_Larkin

Non-member
I've been combating a little bit of green and red hair algae for the last few weeks. I've started doing roughly 25% weekly water changes with natural sea water (as I've done for about 6 months now) rather than my usual 10% per week.

I've increased my astrea snail count by a few, and I think I'm getting the upperhand on the algae.

My question is, is there any adverse effects to doing a weekly 25% NSW change, rather than 10% if I want to keep on a weekly schedule? Is this more of a concern with sterile water mixed with salt, the volume that's swapped out? I'd like to stay ontop of this, and all corals seem to agree with it.

Last edited:
i am no expert but i use common sense..... if i have lots of fishes and they eat and they poop and all that stuff in a closed system, i would consider it is a nice thing to change their water once a week, 30% for me anyway.

Weekly water changes are actually recommended. I run Ferric Oxide x2, Carbon x1 and have an oversized good quality skimmer and my fish and corals were happy the last time we spoke :D

I think the only concern would be if the NSW was importing some nutrients, or had some of it's levels off (like Ca being lower than you might want in your reef tank).

As long as the temp, SG, and other parameters are close, I don't see any problem in lots of water changes.

Thanks Jimmy, I missed that part about NSW... You will def want to test the water prior to putting it in your tank.

If you're getting water from anywhere near Boston, check it twice :p ::

I change about 20% in a 29gal system at least weekly. Not seawater... self-mixed water. Seems to benefit the tank greatly. I skim, run carbon and a bit of GFO too. When the tank was younger and just before I added the skimmer.. I had a rather high phosphate level. I did two separate 20% water changes over a three day period. The tank was happy, and phosphates went down.