Petco Ocean water!

Overlook reef

Non-member
After reading about LedReef using Petco Ocean Water, I decided to use it yesterday for my weekly 5 gal water change. I may be imagining this, but I believe I can see a difference right away. The polyp extension seems better than I have ever seen! Is this possible?!? I use Red Sea Coral Pro and love it, but I feel I can see a difference! Has anyone else had this same experience besides LedReef? :confused:

Last edited:
I have been using the Petco Ocean Water for almost 2 months now in my 14 and 12 G tanks. All is OK and polyps extencions are good too. I have seen a continuous encrusting growth but only a small growth in the acros tips. My 12 G is full SPS.

I measured Ca and alk last week and was 360 and 5 dkh. I changed 4 G yesterday and tomorrow I will measure again. Looks like for my bioload of SPS y will have to start supplementing again.

But YES....the Petco Ocean Water is working OK. But 3-4 gallons change per week in my SPS of 12 G + 3 G refugium tank, with my bioload, is not enough to keep the parameters the water has in the box. I will have to supplement.

Last edited:
I have a 34 gal SPS dominated tank and I was thinking about the Cal and ALk long term Also, the cost would be a lot more. I am wondering what is the big difference that would make my corals react like that?