Salt Brand Recommendations

Word on the street is that Tropic Marin Pro Reef salt is the best. I was going to buy a couple 200 gallon buckets online, but it seems everyone is sold out until the beginning of March.

What salt is considered second best? I'll need something to tide me over 'til I can make a large order. Total volume of the system should be about 170 gallons. I don't want to have to do too much dosing if possible.

TIA,
Paul

I've been using the regular Tropic Marin for 17 years with no problems what-so-ever. Calcium tests at about 320-350 so you have to bump it up. That's the only issue and it's really not an issue, at least not with me.

Last edited:
Thanks Bob. Seventeen years is a pretty good track record. ;) To play it safe, I will probably go with that over the Reef Crystals then. I was told that Reef Crystals aren't terribly consistant.

Used to us Tropic Marin but went to IO since it was considerably cheaper. Been using that for years with good results. Didn't notice a difference in the tank between the 2 mixes.

I run a Ca reactor. Dump in Mg every now and then, and tweak Ca and Alk levels with Kent powders as needed.

Not yet, although I used to way back in the day before the Ca reactor. I have fuge in the sump running reverse light cycle so pH only drops to like 8.1 at night while at 8.3 in the day so don't need the kalk top-off for pH control. I might consider using it if my reactor can't keep up once the tank is all set. It seemed to have a tough time in the 75g so I'm expecting the same to get worse now. We'll see.

I didn't think kalk was really for PH control. I thought it was mainly for maintaining CA and ALK.

I've used IO and Torpic Marin and I prefer the IO.

Steve, can you explain why you prefer IO? I'm currently using TM and would like to switch over to IO due to cost, so I'd be interested in hearing why you may prefer aside from cost.