What do you really need to add?

ReeferMedic

Non-member
Hey all! I'm a bit new to this forum. I've been keeping reef tanks for a few years now and I can't help but wonder if i'm throwing all kinds of money away on all the supplements i buy for it. I was wondering if any one had an answer to the never ending question. What do you actually need to add to a reef tank with some fish also. I add Strontium 2x a week, Potassium iodide 2x a week, Magnessium 1x a week, Kalkwasser with all top off water(deionized of course), Bicarb when needed, Boyds Vita Chem 1x a week, Vitamin C every day, trace elements for corals, trace elements for fish. I keep every thing that I can test for at optimun levels. I just feel like some of this stuff must be unnecessary. Any info on this would be a great help..................

personally I would dump all that stuff and just keep the kalk additions. Dosing mg is only good if your testing it and keeping a specific level. Anything else you can't test for I would avoid [Just do regular water changes and monitor the Ca and Alk]

You don't add any thing else to yours? Just curious, what do you keep? I have a 200 gallon tank and it's expensive to keep up with all this stuff if I don't need it.

Last edited:
the only things i add to my reefs are ca/alk supplements(kalkwasser and ca reactor in the sps tank and b-ionic in the others), food and phyto. my sps tank also gets mg supplements when needed. i truely belive regular water changes take care of the rest of the trace elelment needs.

I agree with the above - I only add calc/alk through kalk top-off and 2-part supplements when needed. I also add phyto, vitamins, cyclop-eeze and garlic to the fish goo that I make - takes care of the corals and the fish with every feeding. Regular water changes should take care of the rest.