What problems did you have when using tap water?

Kungfukid

Non-member
Hi
Who in here had bad experiences when using tap water in your reef tank. What problems did you have when using tap water. Did those problems go away after you made a switch to RO/DI?
I have never used tap water ever since I got my foot wet in this hobby (always started with ro/di) so I have no experience with tap water whatsoever. I really like to know from those that have used tap water.
Your inputs and comments would be much appreciated.

Please do not comment if you have never tried tap water. Also please do not comments just because you hear from your reef friends said he was having this and having that when using tap water.

Thanks

Kid

I always used tap water and my dad has been using tp water for over 15 years. Both for Fish only tanks and reef tanks.

Neither of us never had a problem.

My girlfriends brother also uses tap water for his reef tank.

Note: I also change between 10-15% of the water every week. My dad changes 10%. No matter what you have, water changes are still the best way to filter your water.

I also use tap water. Had no issues just add some prime to get rid of all the toxins. Fish and corals are very healthy.

i used to use tap water and added drops to it just to remove chlorine and some metals. i currently use ro water and i do c that my corals look better with ro water. but its also big impact on where you live. some places are much healthier then other. for example i live in groton and we have had copper in out water which is a reef killer there are some places with alot cleaner water so it may work for some but not for others. my friends tap water has a yellowish tint to it (idk y) but i wouldn't ever use that in my tank. personally im a ro person i feel if you can get it then use it. but honestly its all on where you live. just giving my experience hope it helps :)