Electrical Question. Can double 250W MH Fixture be used on 15amp breaker ?

uhupong

BRS Member
My tank has center bar in the middle which prevent my single 250 MH bulb to shine down at it maximum capacity.My interim solution before my near future upgrade to a larger aquarium (plan is still up in the air) is to upgrade my lighting system to a stronger one, the 2 bulbs 250 Watts MH system.

However a few times in the past, we had tripped the breaker by plugging in Iron or vacuum cleaner while the light was on. I was confused as they were plugged into different outlet than the one MH was plugged in.

I have very little electrical knowledge and would like to seek advise, if I could use double bulbs 250Watts MH system in my apartment? I have looked at the breaker box and see that the outlet that MH is plugged in has 15amp (assume number 15 represent amp ?).

If this doesn't work out, my only option is to go with LED system which I assume that it is more electrical breaker friendly than MH.

Thank you in advance for all opinions/suggestions.
Pong

P.S. Please pardon me if any of the above don't make sense in term of electrical terminology.

2.1 A and I believe that one breaker goes to 2 outlets but I can't say for sure.

You should be fine. Stuff like vacuums draw a lot of Amps so as long as you have a plug for that on a separate breaker you will be good. Some vacuums are 12-15 amps alone.

That's explain. I was confused (actually still am) about the whole Watts and Amps. I have to go see if my Iron pull lots of Amps or not, I bet it does coz it poped my breaker once already.

Thanks all for the advises. Back to focus on MH VS LED again. :)