Flatworm exit

SeaCilla1212

Non-member
So I got some flat worms from a frag that I bought in put in my display tank. They started out just as a little amount so I got a six line wrasse to help out cuz it wasn't that many. He did the job very well but it was like over night they got out of control and the six line isn't even putting a dent in these things! So clearly it's time for me to do something. They r not bothering my corals at all they aren't even on them they r just all over the glass sand bed and rocks. They aren't bothering anything but they r just so ugly that I want them gone I'm tired of looking at them. But I've heard horror stories about flat worm exit basically killing everything in people's tanks. I've never used it before and I was wondering if anyone could give me some feed back on their experiences with it? Also if u could give me a walk through on how to use it and how much of a water change to do after and stuff. Thanx in advance!

I cant offer much in the way of a walkthrough having never used it, but the general practice is to siphon as many as possible out while doing a water change. The more you get out the better. Its not the flatworm exit that is the problem, its the amount of dead flatworms that would be basically organic waste. Can cause a spike in your params which can cause issues. Your tank is young so that spike is exacerbated by an immature biological filter.

I know it will kill TANGs. No the flatworm toxin is NOT the culprit that killed my tangs, the Flatworm Exit did. I treat my 120 at barely 2 times the recommended dosage, immediately the tangs act eradically as i was dosing the stuff. so if i were you i would remove the tangs if you have any. I suspect wrasse might be the victim too so take them out.