Hey everyone! Newbie here Need help

Nawt2tawl

Non-member
Whats up everyone me and my girl decided we want to start a fish tank soon. She loves marine life so i think it would be a cool hobby for us to do. Now we have a 75 gallon tank her dad is giving us. So i bought a few books went to the pet stores all week been online researching as much as i can. And really want to start a salt water tank just fish and maybe live rock first. After i get more experience and knowlege i deff want to add corals and anenomes, but focus on learning as much as i can about setting a tank up and begginer fish. Now my questions are what exactly do I need? i know i need the skimmer, filter, pump, heater, test kits, hydrometer, and a quarantine tank. I have the quarantine tank (old 10 gallon fresh water my dad had). Im really setting this up for her but the prices are bringing me down. Some places there so high and others not so bad. I would like to know what exactly i need & also what would the price be around just an estimate so before i invest any money in this i know what im getting myself into. Im willing to learn everything i can & be prepared i will have lots more questions coming up..........btw the reef meetings sound very good, do those cost and if so how much? Thanks in advance looking forward to your responses

welcome to BRS!

well a skimmer and good quality live rock, refractometer (bit better than hyrdometer), good quality test kits, if you can set up a refuge with macro algae that would be great, a few small pumps to circulate the water.................also fairly good lights if u want to raise corals
few options there also, T5, Metal halides and LEDs..........(verdictis still out with those)

ask plenty of questions and take it slow

Frank

TE]

Hey,

Welcome to the the BRS!