Is ordering online worth it?

Ashes

Non-member
Hey guys,

I'm new to the hobby and I have heard mixed reviews on ordering corals online and I was wondering what everyone thinks.

I worked at a petstore that sold salt water stuff for a year and was always told to tell people to stay away from online ordering. I know the complications with fish and shipping and I like getting my fish from where I worked but I'm not so sure about the corals. Was the store just trying to get me to buy their stuff or is there a valid concern about ordering corals, snails, and hermits online?

-ash

Some corals are sensitive shippers but for the most part, it is usually fine with a good vendor.

I order a lot of my corals online because that is where I am able to find more rare stuff.

Ordering online for equipment and food can be much cheaper than buying in store. Never really trusted buying online for real live animals though.

Hey guys,

I'm new to the hobby and I have heard mixed reviews on ordering corals online and I was wondering what everyone thinks.

I worked at a petstore that sold salt water stuff for a year and was always told to tell people to stay away from online ordering. I know the complications with fish and shipping and I like getting my fish from where I worked but I'm not so sure about the corals. Was the store just trying to get me to buy their stuff or is there a valid concern about ordering corals, snails, and hermits online?

-ash
They told you that because online vendors are their competition. Online vendors are a very big threat to brick and mortar stores. The only downside to buying from online stores is that it can eventually put the brick and mortar stores out of business if they don't think of other ways to bring in money. When you buy corals or fish online, you actually normally get them for much less money and you actually get guarantees that a lot of brick and mortar stores would never offer.