Overflows vs. Drilled Glass Pane

What means of tank water import/export do you like best?

• In tank overflows

Votes: 16 66.7%
  • Drilled glass w/ bulkheads and direct extraction (no overflow component)

Votes: 8 33.3%
  • Other (HOB overflow, etc.)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

josho923

BRS Member
Hi everybody, I'm an old pro when it comes to really advanced freshwater tanks (large planted tanks, discus, breeding, etc.) but I'm taking on saltwater for the first time. I've read, read, and read some more before jumping into a reef tank and am taking things very slowly, trying to do it the right way. I've got a general question for all of you:

I am looking to set up a 125 gallon tank and am not going to do HOB overflows. I plan to have a nice, large sump/refugium underneath for filtration, etc., and would really like to hear any advice re: choosing between: a reef ready tank with built-in overflows (nice, has benefits, but also uses up a lot of critical space and is a relative eyesore in tank itself) vs. buying a non-reef ready tank with a non-tempered posterior glass pane and drilling holes w/ bulkheads, etc. Would love to hear any thoughts on this. Thanks in advance for the help!

Josh, if you are not afraid to drill holes then Google "bean animal over flow" look for the RC link (sorry not sure if we can link other forums here or I would just post it). My next tank will without a doubt run a coast to coast overflow with bean animal drains. They are whisper quiet, move a ton of water, fail safe and even minimize salt creep in the sump.

I am in the process of putting one in on my inline frag tank.

...stupid auto correct

I am starting the process of upgrading to a similar system. I am planning on drilling the back wall of a non-reef ready 125g for a bean animal style custom overflow.