Red Sea coral pro vs reef crystals

So I've been debating on which salt to use I've used reef crystals for a while with okay success but I hear Red Sea is a better salt and corals grow better any one have any insight on this

I always used Red Sea Coral Pro, but recently I got a really good deal on some Reef Crystals and I have been using that for a couple of months. I will be going back to Red Sea Coral Pro. I feel like my corals seem happier with the Coral Pro. (may be my imagination, but I will be going back)

I hated the Red Sea salt I used 3 buckets a while back. The levels are way too elevated and if you don't mix it how they say the calcium precipitates out and it's cloudy.

hmmm, I used up the bucket of Red sea coral pro from you, it was fine, no precipitates.

I used Coral pro in my past tank with much success. Reef crystals were used to get my most recent tank going and after using up the two boxes i had started with I switched back to red sea. I'm happier with it, because my corals look better (color and growth). I don't have any issues mixing either. Typically Ill mix 5 gallons at a time, bringing it up to temp and adding salt in two (slowly poured) additions. About two hours from start to ready for water change.

Last edited:
I think rotating them is a good idea. If one is a little low on something, the other should make up for it. If one is too high in something, the other will dilute it out.

I had an isssue w/ red sea pro salt about 2 years ago that the alkalinity was way low after mixing, lime 5-6 dkh. This was doing small batches. I learned to mix the salt within the tub prior to mixing into the water. Switched to reef crystals shortly after with no issues. Have 1st bucket of red sea again due to good price. Can't say I notice any difference with corals between the two (but my wife also accuses me of not being very perceptive).

hmmm, I used up the bucket of Red sea coral pro from you, it was fine, no precipitates.