SPS grow observations (long with few branches vs short and many branches)

Docstach

Non-member
Just a random observation and I was wondering the cause. I have a green slimmer that has been doing well in my tank. With "standard" reef conditions IE lots of flow and LED lights with a heavy blue lean it grows like a typical green slimmer. By that I mean it has long stalks with few branches. However, I trimmed off a piece of it awhile ago and for lack of a better place I just stuck it in my refugium. In my refugium it still grows quite well, however it branches like crazy. Stalks don't grow more than an inch before branching. The refugium is also lit by a LED but it has much more of a white/red spectrum to it. Also, the flow is a lot less. I figure it has to be one of those two things but not sure which one?

vs

Im new to SPS, but my understanding is that flow plays a huge roll in how they grow. Becuase they need lots of flow, in high flow environments they will grow thick, tightly packed branches. In low flow, becuase the need the water movement, the tend to be thinner and spread outward. Light could have something to do with it as well, but my guess is flow.

Any guess at this point is anicdotal. Light can effect growth too. I could be both for all we know. The only to tell would be a set of experiments using the scientific method.

I would be interested to know the answer to this too. Even my stylophora is long and leggy in my current tank. I had always assumed it was for the same reasons as my outside garden plants: lower light + low wind = straggly and full sun + exposed wind = stocky . But I have no idea -- would love to know real reasons.

Last edited:
What types of LED in the display and what type of LED in the refugium?
Also flow plays an important roll in SPS growth form too.

Even with those answers, Dong you have to agree that without properly set up experiment we are just guessing? Aren't we?