DIY OverFlow Box

Doherty

Non-member
I have recently been looking on-line at a well known site that sells premade overflow boxes, glass cutting bits etc, for the price around $75 for the kit and I felt it was worth a try attempting to do it myself for less money. Lets see if I am able to, keeping In mind I plan to make 2 of these for a side-by-side 20g High set-up's. I will note the cost of materials purchased to keep track.

I have never done this before so lets see how they comes out.

I plan to duplicate the dimensions of the box, as well as the bulk head size. It will be 6"x2"x6" with a 1.5" bulkhead. For the site, it rates the box around 700 gph. Very overkill for the flow rate for the system, definitely don't plan on putting that much water through it, but wanted to be on the safe side to decrease the chance of an overflow of the tank. I am making these boxes so they are able to be removed if needed/can use in other systems if needed, so I wont be siliconing these to the tank.

1. 3/16 Black Acrylic 12"x24" $18 (which includes shipping) this should be enough for the 2 overflow boxes as long as I don't mess it up

2. 5 oz tube # 16 Weld-on $8

3. High speed plastic cutter for my Dremel $5

4. Pack of 4, 6" clamps $20 ...... prob a good idea to get 6 clamps

5. High speed Diamond Bit for Dremel $ 11 (works great but is very slow process for cutting hole in glass) Prob worth picking up diamond hole cutter

6. 2, 1.5" bulkheads $24

Total purchase price............ $ 84 for materials for both...... $42/Overflow box, not bad

This would have cost me over $150 to purchase 2 overflow boxes. That is a huge price difference........ as long as you don't mind doing the work your self.

Pictures to come!

Pics of some of the materials

Attachments

• IMG_1485e.JPG
    IMG_1485e.JPG
    49.2 KB · Views: 1,824
  • IMG_1487e.JPG
    IMG_1487e.JPG
    48.3 KB · Views: 1,842