I'm stumped!!

SeaCilla1212

Non-member
Ok so I'm new to this hobby first off. I have a dogface puffer who is in a quarantine tank because he had an awful case of ick. So while he was in that tank being treated I decided to turn my fish only tank into a reef tank. The corals are doing awesome in my main tank but I'm very very worried that I made a stupid mistake cuz my puffer is going to rip them apart? All the corals are soft corals because I read that puffers are best kept with soft corals and they will most likely leave soft corals alone. But before the puffer got sick he was in my main tank and I had a bunch of fake corals in there and he left them a lone at first but then started taking bites from them. So I wanted to hear u guys opinion on this topic. So please anyone.....please help!?

my buddy had one in his tank last year his wife bought it and he tosssed him in that things gobbled up his zoa and mushrooms i mean it ate mushrooms like a fat kid on big macs made short work of them

I would not recommend pufferfish with corals at all. Puffers are curious fish and like to take bites out of things. Part of the reason for that is that they take chunks out of rocks to keep their beaks (teeth) from over growing. Try selling the puffer to a sponsor or anyone else with a FOWLR tank IMO.

IMO I would make a decision on whether you want a reef tank or the puffer.

More than likely the puffer will be a constant problem in your reef tank.

Get another tank! :)

Do u guys think it would be a good idea if I left the puffer in the 55gallon and bought say a 30gallon for just corals and reef safe fish? Or do u guys honestly think that would be to much for a beginner?

No, I would not advise keeping the puffer in the 55. They get up to a foot long, the same width as the 55. They need a far larger tank obviously. You could do a Toby Puffer in a 55 though.