Need help ASAP.

lilrodyreefer

Non-member
My biopellets have been in the system for over a month now and most of the cyno is gone and my nitrates were getting lower. A day or two ago I noticed some cyno in the main display. I just got home from work and was checking the tank and sump as I do every morning and I noticed that my pellets looked like they were absorbing water. They have plumped up a bit. I'm new to bio pellets and I'm wondering if this is a bad thing. I am about to do some water tests to see where I'm at. Any help would be great!!!!

Well I got some decent feedback on reefcentral. Not so much here. Kinda surprised about that and a little discouraged at the same time. It seems that the melting pellets are due to to much flow through the reactor. I think I might just scrap the bio pellets and run gfo.

I had good luck with the pellets. As far as I know they are suppossed to swell up. They also dissolve over time. As i understand it they are suppossed to create a bacteria to remove nitrates.

That's what I've been hearing. It seems like a better nutrient export.

the bacteria eats the waste to a certain exent, and then your strong skimmer pulls out the junk. I ran this for while and didnt really think my tanks benifited.........................

do u have mostly sps?

No as of right now it's a mixed reef. I have been thinking of doing ethier a Lps and leather tank or a sps only tank. I have been struggling with problems sence last year when we had the hurricane. I think I'm going to scrap the pellets and run gfo. I have herd much better things about gfo.

well I think they have slightly different outcomes
gfo is soley for phosphates where the pellets are for nutrients, nitrates ect...................

I over did it with the pellets and vodka 5 or so years ago and this did poorly, but I had mostly lps and softies

I think the low nutrient tanks are for sps dominant tanks

what issues are u having with ur tank